Ajit Monteiro

Go Beyond Vista. Apple starts spamming!

Posted in Apple, Humor, Microsoft, OSX, Random Thoughts, Vista by amonteiro on February 6, 2007

I am trying really hard to keep an open/unbiased opinion on the Apple vs Microsoft debate. Going beyond their regular smearing ad campaigns, they have graduated to spamming peoples inboxes (mine included). Here’s an email I received on the 4th of February.

Go Beyond Vista

For my skeptical readers, I’d like to first point out that this email was definetely received from Apple, and not some third party. I can say this, because the images that make up the email, http://images.apple.com/chatterbox/us/2007/02/3906/img/ttl.gif and http://images.apple.com/chatterbox/us/2007/02/3906/img/mainimage.jpg are clearly off the apple.com servers.

Apple does have some very slick products, including OSX, the iPod and hopefully the iPhone soon. Why not show these off, instead of playing dirty with their competitors. I have watched a lot of videos on on10 and Channel9 and Microsoft employees very rarely (if ever) mention their competitors, let alone speak badly of them.

Sorry Steve, but I’ve already upgraded to Vista, its simpler, more secure and way more fun”. Not to mention it works with all my stuff like my printer, camera, xBox 360, home theater system and phone.

Doing some looking around on the subject I came to Paul Smith’s blog which had this rather humorous response…

Beyond Mac OS


5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Astro said, on February 7, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    What do you got against Macs?

  2. ajitmonteiro said, on February 7, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    I do not have anything against Macs. I respect their products and could see myself using them.

    What does bother me, are companies that advertise by putting down competitors products.

  3. ajitmonteiro said, on February 7, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    I added this post to digg, at Go Beyond Vista. Apple starts spamming! and, got various responses saying that I had to have added myself to their mailing list at some point.

    There is a possibility, although unlikely, that I signed up at some time. However, I don’t personally own any Apple products and don’t use iTunes.

    To let users decide for themselves here is a list of links, to this discussion, elsewhere on the web.
    http://channel9.msdn.com/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=279198
    http://digg.com/apple/Apple_launches_SPAM_Campaign_Go_beyond_Vista

  4. Adnan said, on February 8, 2007 at 11:30 am

    Although I do agree that they’re smear ad campaign is ineffective and always has been, I think the best way to determine whether or not Apple is really spamming you is to unsubscribe and see whether or not you continue to receive e-mails from Apple.

    While waiting to see if Apple spams you, hears some advertising from Microsoft – http://mvpc.ytmnd.com/

  5. Rich said, on February 8, 2007 at 11:41 am

    Heres a whole list of funny ones http://www.internet-nexus.com/2007/01/im-mac-im-pc.htm


Leave a comment