Ajit Monteiro

DreamScene (Preview) Released

Posted in Microsoft, Random Thoughts, UI, Video, Vista by amonteiro on February 14, 2007

DreamScene (Preview) was available for Vista Ultimate users yesterday. For those who don’t know, its a Windows Vista Ultimate Extra that allows users to use a video as their desktp background.

I have been playing with it a bit, and I’m glad its still a preview, not a full release. It still needs some work; The one video that is included with it crashes for me.

Other video’s however do work, and my CPU utilization hovers at about 35% with most of them. This isn’t bad considering my computer is only a Dell Inspiron 6000, 1.6Ghz with 1GB of RAM. I could see it being worth it on a faster computer, however I’m still not convinced I want my wallpaper moving, seems like it would be too distracting; Maybe on a secondary computer.

If you have had the chance to install it, here are some additional scenes to download. Unfortunately they are all on Rapidshare.

Here’s the DreamScene demo that’s been going around…

Leave a Reply

