Ajit Monteiro

Humming Search Will Find the Name of the Song you Forgot

Posted in Music, Random Links by amonteiro on December 15, 2006

Humming SearchIf you can’t remember a song name but remember the tune here is something that might help out. Humming Search allows you to hum the tune of the song and it tries to guess the song name.

“Looking for the name of a song you’ve got stuck in your head? Web site Nayio’s Humming search records 15 seconds of you humming a song, then searches for a match. This kind of service isn’t altogether new, but this is the only web-based humming search I’ve seen (and it’s free). However, your mileage will likely vary.

For example, in my attempts to get a positive match on a tune, I started with a song, then tried the top result each time Humming search gave me a false positive – which led to this trail before I got a hit: The Weight (miss) -> Friday I’m in Love (miss) -> A Day in the Life (miss) -> Dream a Little Dream (hit!). Not great, but then again, maybe I’m just a terrible hummer (I think I can carry a tune!). The search requires you to install an ActiveX plugin, so Internet Explorer is the only browser it’d work on for me. If you give it a try, give us your results in the comments.”

– Via LifeHacker

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jim said, on September 22, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    I tried like 20 times to find a rock song and the closest thing was brittany spears. your site should be deleted scam-artist.

  2. david said, on October 18, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    i thought it was the off the dog pound record but i couldnt remember this chicks name it starts…let me lay it on the line.. i got a lil freakiness inside..and its all about the dog in me…..thats all i know

  3. Tech Gadget said, on February 12, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    I just required some information and was searching on Google for it. I visited each page that came on first page and didnt got any relevant result then I thought to check out the second one and got your blog. This is what I wanted!

  4. liberar moviles sony ericsson said, on February 27, 2010 at 11:00 am

    Wicked cheers, very use full information. thank you.


Leave a Reply

